What we’re reading: The BFG by Roald Dahl

imgresI have to admit to a bedtime story hiatus in our household. Reading at bedtime, for a variety of reasons, has fallen out of our routine.

However, prompted by a rather blunt but accurate comment in this year’s report card that my son is not “passionate about books”, I decided to do something about this. My motivation has been helped by the fact that Toby has been laid low with a mild virus and is unusually receptive to most things I suggest, realising in his hour of need that I might actually serve a purpose.

So, after a browse of the bookshelf and a brief revisit to The Witches I downloaded The BFG onto the Kindle, extremely grateful to the e-book format in these desperate circumstances.

Roald Dahl is definitely a go-to author for a reluctant reader and The BFG was one of the stand-out books from my childhood. Plus, I have an ulterior motive. I really, really want to see the film edition of the book, released in July, and if I can get Toby enthused I have the perfect excuse to do just that!

So far, I don’t think I will have to work too hard to convince him to enjoy this one, and the reading of it is bringing back lots of memories for me. It does seem as good as I remember it. It’s also reminded me how valuable a role the bedtime story plays in our family life, and I’ll try not to be so hasty to give it up in the future.

ethannevelyn
6 thoughts on “What we’re reading: The BFG by Roald Dahl

  1. I read this book when I was quite young, I haven’t actually read it to my kids although the girls read it at school. I would love to see the film, Adam my 6 year old saw the preview for it and the giant hand and it gave him nightmares so I don’t think I’ll be seeing the film anytime soon with him #fabFridaypost

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think my son might be a bit scared for this movie in the cinema too. Maybe one for DVD. We have a bit of a history of walking out of films that have been too scary. Thanks for reading and commenting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

