Best children’s books ever?

If you like a list – and I love a list – check out the Telegraph’s compilation of the 100 best children’s book.

It’s like taking a trip through my own childhood as well as the early years of parenting, and there are plenty of new and classic titles on it that I’m itching to try with Toby.

There are many of my own childhood favourites like The Velveteen Rabbit and The BFG, as well as many more recently loved picture books I read with Toby like The Gruffalo and The Tiger Who Came to Tea, which although a bit dated was still really loved in our home.

The first chapter books I tackled with Toby were the How to Train your Dragon series by Cressida Cowell, and those books hold a special place in my heart so I’d be very disappointed if these had been excluded.

I’m delighted to see Lauren Child earn a place on this list with her retelling of the Princess and the Pea. I absolutely love Lauren Child, and I don’t think she always gets the acclaim she deserves.

There are of course some predictable choices. No children’s literature list would be complete without Harry Potter (which I haven’t even read!) and Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy has a rightful spot – as such an incredible masterpiece should.

There are some notable absences though. No Neil Gaiman, one of the most skilled and inventive writers I’ve read and whose Coraline manages to be both chilling and captivating. I was worried I’d traumatised Toby when we read it at bedtimes, so scary it was! And although Tove Jansson is mentioned for the Summer Book, her Moomin tales seem sadly overlooked.

How many of the books on the list have you read? Are any of your favourites missing?

Read the list here.

Leave a Reply

